Observation Two

I like to think I have a good memory, especially a visual one, and am always surprised when I see similar designs. That happened to me just this morning while following a link from Coudal to the portfolio site of Justin Thomas Kay. When presented with the main page I thouth to myself that looks familiar. And then I cliked on the project for BA reps and knew where I had seen it before. It looks a lot like the cover for Dot Dot Dot issue four.

I am not trying to say this is a bad thing, just something I noticed. The idea to overlap different colors of patterns is not a new one. Bradbury Thompson and other mid-century modern designers experimented with the halftone pattern and overprinting in the 1940’s and 1950’s, so this is not a matter of someone ripping off anothers new and original idea.

So, what is my point? I don’t have one. Justin’s work is great, I like it very much. Dot Dot Dot is a wonderful journal of art and design. Just an observation of similar designs.

Leave a Reply

