Observation Four

So I was flipping through my Type Directors Club Annual tonight (#27) while the girls are watching the latest Barbie video and I get to page 155 and I see a very well done identity and stationery package from the fine folks at Wink in Minneapolis. I admire the hand lettering and continue flipping. I then arrive on page 158 and see another well done identity and stationery package from the fine folks at Wink in Minneapolis.
And then I did a double take.


Work like this makes me think a little bit. The first thing I thought was I sure hope that these two companies are related somehow. Husband with one business, wife with another. Anything at all that would tie these two companies together and make it OK for the designs to be so similar. Look at the following images from the design annual.

Copycats Media

Girard Management

The business cards and envelopes are almost identical. Lazy? Related? Who knows.

The second thing that bothers me about this is that both of these designs were featured in the annual. And only 3 pages apart. I agree that both of these designs are good. But is it necessary to include two almost identical pieces of design from the same company in the same annual? One of these should have been left out and given the room to something equally as good and different.

3 Comments »

  1. I think it is good to critique the critiquers.

    I tell my students that no one walks on water…so to speak. Everyone is ripe for a good critique and looking at their work with a critical eye.

    Neat design, but I agree with your assessment.

  2. Wow, see, this is why those “instant identity” websites might have a chance of succeeding.
    I can only hope they were really late for a boat payment.

  3. Of course, you know it might be an extremely clever pun. The Copycats one.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

